Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 1st, 2009

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind” -Dr. Seuss

Thought I would start off my post tonight with arguably one of my favorite quotes out there.  Speaks the truth, does it not?  Anyway- today was a long day- but a good one!  I did really well with my microbiology quiz and decently well on the physics lab quiz (messed up the last one…boo!).

I was pretty tired and did not really feel like going on a run or doing yoga (gasp!) but I knew if I did it, I would thank myself later.  I left my garmin at home today and just ran for the joy of running and let me tell you it was BEAUTIFUL.  It smelled like Halloween outside- cmon I know you know the smell.  Sort of  like a smoking chimney.  The air was nice and crisp and at the perfect temperature.  I studied calculus before yoga class and then went to my yoga class (which she made 15 minutes longer today for no good reason at all- scoresky!).  Yoga was amazing. I loved every minute of it.  She read us something about “body image” in the beginning of class (it is love your body week…did you know that?) and then said that there was a study done that proved that yoga increases women’s body image.  look at that! how cool, right?  I can certainly say that my body image has increased since I started yoga. Not because I look better but because I (a) appreciate my body more- for its capabilities and limitations and (b) I “know” my body better because of yoga.  anyway….I came home and tried out a new Kashi Frozen Meal….

CIMG4157

Taylor said she loved this flavor- so I was really really siked to try it out!

Mayan harvest bake: plantains, black beans, sweet potato, Kale

Mayan harvest bake: plantains, black beans, sweet potato, Kale in spicy ancho sauce

sort of kind of looks like mush but i tell you it was AWESOME.  I can tell why this is Taylor’s favorite now.  I had this with some seduction bread from whole foods (love that stuff!).  good dinner. not huge but I wasnt very hungry at all so it worked out.

Then I headed over to starbucks to study for my Calculus midterm (and also ended up skyping (iming not video- I am not that rude!) my friend joe- he is in australia-studying abroad)  Joe just got back from his “spring break” in australia- he went sky diving and white water rafting in the rain forest… and snorkeling.  sounds like he has an absolute blast!  Wish I was there. He comes back to america at the end of november I believe?  I am excited for the abroad kids to come back- I miss them mucho!  anyway… at starbucks I was able to snag the internet for free (woohoo!) and I got a berry blossom tea (venti) and ate a mini green & black dark chocolate bar 😉

CIMG4171

CIMG4168

Tomorrow is lunch date friday with rosina, meg, and anna 😉

Have a good night!!

Christina

Read Full Post »

Pumpkin Oats!

Good morning!

So this morning I tried out yet another oat combo (that emily suggested…) and this was a winner!!!  The other combo I made the other day was great too….but I think this one beats it out… 1/3 C Oats, 1/3 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1/3 C H20, 1/2 C pumpkin, walnuts, raisins (cooked in from the beginning), banana (1/2 cooked in and 1/2 topped), walnuts (chopped to garnish), nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon!

CIMG4153

CIMG4156

yum!!

to do list for the day: take microbiology quiz, go to biology of mammals class, take physics lab quiz/do the physics lab, run 4 miles, go to yoga, study for tomorrow’s Calc midterm! and then its finally friday!!!!  I guess I should not say finally- because the week actually went by really fast!!!  but even still….happy for friday!

have a nice day!

-christina

p.s. do not forget about my giveaway– entries must be in by sunday!

Read Full Post »