Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 3rd, 2009

Good morning my fellow bloggers 😉

Before I get on the topic of what I did last night….let’s talk about what I made during the day, shall we?

During the summer, Angharad from Eating for England did a post about how to make your own muesli.  And this looked really interesting to me!  So I saved it in my “favorites” and today I FINALLY got around to making my own muesli!!

I followed Angharhad’s guidelines and added 6 C oats, 2 C of a mix of pumpkin seeds/sunflower seeds/chopped walnuts/sliced almonds, 1/2 C shredded coconut, 1 C dried fruit (I used raisins, cranberries, and a few prunes), a bunch of cinnamon (she called for 1 tsp…I put about 10x that haha), sprinkle of salt, 1/4 C brown sugar. mix in large bowl. place is jars/containers and refrigerate (this is a perishable!).

CIMG4198CIMG4201

So…how do you serve muesli?  Well Miss Angharad did yet another post devoted to just this! “Muesli 4 ways”

To sum up…you can enjoy your muesli:

  1. old school with milk
  2. parfait style with yogurt, muesli, fruit, and whatever your little heart desires
  3. 9 hour soak AKA Over night oats
  4. 4 layer pancakes

I do not have a verdict on the museli yet because I have not tried it out in any sort of combo yet!  you see I would have but I kinda of ate everything that was standing in my way today (running 16 miles makes a girl hungry!).  and so when I FINALLY got full (it took hours haha) I decided to hold off on making a muesli combo!  I am making a pumpkin breakfast cookie for tomorrow’s breakfast…but I thinking of doing something with muesli and pumpkin on monday- perhaps muesli/pumpkin overnight oats aka 9 hour soak?  does this sound good? what do you think? hmmmm….

anyway… my Aunt, Uncle, Cousin (brian) and his girlfriend (nicole) were in baltimore for the day today and asked if I wanted to meet them for dinner…and of course I said YES!  I love being with my family so so much.  Always a fun time.  We decided to dine at Amici’s Restaurant in Little Italy. It was a late dinner- 8:30.  I ordered the PENNE PRIMAVERA: ROASTED RED PEPPERS, ARTICHOKE HEARTS, BLACK OLIVES, ONIONS, GARLIC, AND ZUCCHINI SAUTEED IN HOMEMADE MARINARA SAUCE. the dish itself was EXCELLENT (minus the olives because I do not like olives).  The tomato sauce was awesome and the whole dish really just hit the spot.  I licked my plate clean.  But all in all, I thought the restaurant itself was just okay.  the staff was par.  It seemed like they were trying to rush us out of there; they did not even ask if we wanted dessert (a question which I would have absolutely said yes to haha).  The physical restaurant itself was pretty comfortable but was nothing amazing.  Would have liked a more “at home”, “cozy” atmosphere.  Very cold.  Our starter salads (caesars and house) were medicore- nothing very special about them- they had more romaine lettuce on them them actual toppings.  and the bread, although it was not BAD (I had about 3 slices haha), it was not AMAZING either.  Prices were pretty reasonable as compared to the other surrouding restaurants.   Would I go back to Amicci’s again? probably not. Not because I HATED it (because I didnt…I just did not love it), but because little italy has sooo many restaurants and I would definitely like to venture over to them.  maybe find something that is a little less “american Italian”.

uslogo-2

Afterwards, we walked around the town for a little bit and were going to stop into Vaccaro’s Italian Pastry for some coffee, tea, gelato, etc. but the line was out the door and we decided to skip it.  I dropped Brian and Nicole (my first time meeting her- she seems really really nice!) off at the ESPN zone and my Aunt, Uncle, and I were going to find a place to get some dessert but it got late and so we just went back home instead. I had so much fun with them!!!  It was good to see all of them…I had not seem them since about mid-august!  They are honestly the best family you could ask for- I am a really lucky person.  Today I believe they are headed to Fells Point Fall Festival.  I was trying to think of other fun things for them to do- but came up with nada. haha

This morning I tried out my first pumpkin breakfast cookie (excuse the horrible picture please!)

1/2 C oats, 2 T Pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice/cinnamon/nutmeg, 1/2 T almond butter, 2 T vanilla unsweetened almond milk.  Topped with vanilla chobani yogurt, 1/2 T Almond butter, almond slices, and banana in the morning!

1/2 C oats, 2 T Pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice/cinnamon/nutmeg, 1/2 T almond butter, 2 T vanilla unsweetened almond milk. Topped with vanilla chobani yogurt, 1/2 T Almond butter, almond slices, and banana in the morning!

overall this was good. nothing amazing and out of this world. but good.  I think it was missing something but I cannot put my finger on it.  maybe a little bit of maple syrup? who knows.

Today I am headed to annapolis to take my two friends (Caitlin and Marycate) who attend the Naval Academy out to lunch!  I have not seen them in so long and it will be great to catch up again.  I went to high school with them both (I was a year older than them) and we all rowed together.  They were in my boat and I was their coxswain 😉  should be a fun day!  Then I have to teach my spinning class at night and get LOTS of homework done!  AH!   cannot believe it is already sunday!

have a good day!

Love,

Christina

p.s. Good luck in your marathon today, Holly!

Read Full Post »

sweet 16

good afternoon!!

well this morning I woke up around 7:40, got changed, ate some pre-run fuel (TJ’s cinnamon raisin english muffin with pb ;)) and headed over to the NCR trail

CIMG4191I was actually pretty nervous for this run!  because (a) this is my farthest run yet and (b) last week’s long run was unsuccessful!  I set my garmin to 16 and decided to not look at the pace for the entire run.  but I must admit…for the first few miles I was thinking- oh no I am running really slow, etc. etc.  I decided to stop thinking about everything and to JUST RUN TO RUN.  Once I actually did this, I enjoyed the run much much more.  as it turned out…my splits for the first part of the run were not slow at all…it was all just in my head haha.  I did, however, hit a brick wall with about 3 or so miles to go. My legs were tired and begging me to stop but I knew I had to keep on going!  I told myself “Christina…stop your whining!!  Holly is running a marathon tomorrow.  You can run 16.” haha so thanks for the motivation holly! best of luck to your tomorrow, girl! you will do awesome!!!

The rundown…

Mile 1: 7:56

Mile 2: 7:45

Mile 3: 7:56

Mile 4: 8:03

Mile 5: 7:53

Mile 6: 8:01

Mile 7: 8:04

Mile 8: 7:56

Mile 9: 7:55

Mile 10: 7:45

Mile 11: 7:52

Mile 12: 8:05

and I slowly but surely start to hit the brick wall…

Mile 13: 8:11

Mile 14: 8:07

Mile 15: 8:18

Mile 16: 8:20

AVG PACE: 8:01/mi

Time: 2:08:08

After I stretched, hydrated, ate my banana and pb, washed up/changed, I headed over to one world cafe….

CIMG4194

and got my usual… the Mocha Blast Smoothie

skim milk, ice, mocha powder

skim milk, ice, mocha powder

Then I stopped at the cleaners to get my pants hemmed. and when I say pants, I mean underarmor running/yoga pants.  Yes… I am so short that I have to get my WORKOUT PANTS hemmed.  BOO. okay moving onto my trip to whole foods 😉

CIMG4088I got… avocado, apples, strawberries, raspberries, broccoli, buternut squash, oats, dates, parsnips, carrots, sweet potato, onion, garlic, shallot, brown sugar, eggs, ground turkey breast, pomegranate, oat bran, veggie broth, sliced almonds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, and bulk oatmeal!

Included in the above list are ingredients I got things to make Angharad’s Muesli, Alison’s Lentil Chili, and Lisa’s Roasted Veggies!!! woohoo!

I came back home to the site of this baby in the kitchen:

CIMG4196Becky’s parents and sister and brother (Caroline and Luke) came to visit Becky for the day.  and Becky’s lovely mother brought some candy!!! I stole a kitkat and milk duds and I am going to go back for more soon- I hope becky’s mom brought this for all of us. hahah i think she did though.

Okay…well I better go and jump in the shower now!  My Aunt and Uncle and cousin are in baltimore right now and called and said they wanted to take me out to dinner tonight!!!  WOHOO!! more food!  haha  They are leaving the decision to me…too much pressure! I hope I pick well.

have a nice day!! enjoy the beautiful weather outside 😉

Love,

christina

p.s. MY GIVEAWAY ENDS TOMORROW!!!!!

Read Full Post »