Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 17th, 2009

okay…LIES.  My bags are not packed and I am NOT ready to go!  but I really really like that song (Leaving on a Jet Plane for those of you who are wondering!).

Thank you for all of your kind words and prayers for Matt and his family.  I really appreciate it very much.  That is why I love the blog world (as corny as that may sound!).  I always have you guys here for support, advice, whatever!

so after I last left you I went to my two biology classes (microbiology/biology of mammals) and then went to my physics lab.  Went very well and I was out of there pretty quickly.  also….I got my fuel belt in the mail today!  I wont be needed it for my ten miler this weekend but I will absolutely use it for my 15 miler next weekend!  Cannot wait 😉

I then ran my 4 miler on the indoor track because the weather was crappy outside and I was not feeling the treadmill.  Good run.  the only thing was that 10 laps=1 miles…aka I ran 40 times around the track!  Which I didnt mind at all but other people were starting to give me strange looks.  haha oh well!  After running I had about an 1hr (maybe a little more) of lag time before yoga class.  I brought my microbiology notebook (along with some pens and highlighters) and studied everything we learned from the week.  I got some good quality studying in!  At the gym no less…go figure!  anyway the yoga class was called “yoga II”- the one I went to on tuesday was yoga I (for beginners). Yoga II is  intermediate/advanced yoga.  I absolutely loved it.  perfect balance of stretching postures and strengthening.  I felt fantastic!  Just what I wanted and needed in a yoga class.  The Yoga I class is great too- especially on Tuesdays when my schedule is hectic as anything.  It is nice to have an easier/relaxing yoga class.  But for today, yoga II was the way to go!

I came home and heated up some of the Veggie Black Bean Chili with bulgur that I made a few weeks ago…topped with some avocado and baked blue chips!

CIMG3966

and for a little dessert…. 2 hermits and tea over some physics homework 😉 haha

CIMG3974

My roommates/friends are all going out tonight to Mad River in Federal Hill.  I am going to stay in, relax, pack up my bags for home, and finish (and by finish I mean start) my physics and calculus homework! Have a nice night 😉

-Christina

Read Full Post »

unexplainable

My friend Matt that I go to school with lost his father (who just recently won a battle against cancer) yesterday.  He was struck and killed by a tractor trailor while standing near his car along the side of the road.  Meaghan (my freshmen year roommate, highschool friend, and a member of the swim team) called me around 4 yesterday afternoon to tell me the news.  Matt is also on the swim team and was told the news of his father’s death during practice.  It broke my heart to hear this news.  Matt lived right next to Meaghan and I freshmen year and he is honestly one of the nicest, funniest, and friendliest people I have met at Loyola.  Whenever I think about Matt I think about our very first biology exam as college students.  We stayed awake until at 4:30 in the morning studying for it…and both ended up failing!  Everytime I hear the song “3 A.M. by OAR” a smile comes to my face.  We were so delirious by the end of our study session that we didnt even know what we were studying anymore and everything, including 3 A.M. by OAR was absolutely hilarious (sleepy ha-has?).  oh the mistakes of a freshmen.  Since freshmen year we have stayed friendly.  He lives near me back at home and is best friends with our best family friends.  A good family.  A good kid.  He has three younger brothers and one older sister.  What did he do to deserve this?  Why do things like this happen?

When I heard about Matt from my friend Meaghan all I kept thinking is that you never know what each day is going to bring.  Today may be the worst day of my entire life.  Today may be the best day of my life.  Today may just be so-so.  Today maybe be stressful.  It may be busy.  It may be boring….(and so on).  I have no idea what each day is going to bring me.  Do you think Matt went to swimming practice yesterday afternoon knowing that he was going to face one of the most life-altering things of his entire life?  Doubt it.  When things like this happen, it really makes you take a step back and look at life in a different way.  Appreciate the small things. Live each day as it comes. Make sure you tell your family, friends (people that you love) that you love them.  Matt, my thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family.

I was originally planning on going home next weekend but instead, I am going home this weekend.  I really just need a break from things.  Things have been crazy in my life as of recently.  Guess I am going through a rough patch? we all go through it.  I want to see my grandmom in the hospital and I miss my family like you would not believe.  I just need a break from everything here at Loyola.  Lately, I have just been feeling “blah”.   So, I think that going home this weekend will be absolutely perfect for me!!  well enough moping around… time to be happy 😉

This morning I woke up and had a bowl of oats that really hit the spot for me!

1/2 C oats, 1/2 H20, skim milk, pomegranate seeds, banana, nectarine, cinnamon, honey

1/2 C oats, 1/2 H20, skim milk, pomegranate seeds, banana, nectarine, cinnamon, honey

Today I have microbiology class, biology of mammals, and then physics lab.  I plan on going to my gym’s yoga class tonight at 6:30 and hope to get in my 4 miles before the class (I love running before practicing yoga- makes me feel more relaxed!).  My roommates are all going to madriver tonight again but I am going to stay in this week and get some physics homework done so I do not have to bring it along with me this weekend when I go home!  Plus, ill same some much needed $ if I stay in! haha  Well, have a nice day.  love you all!

-Christina

Read Full Post »